Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Fellowships

A number of current and recent graduate students and postdoctoral scholars have applied for and won prestigious awards and fellowships. The awardees reflect the breadth of outstanding research at UIUC and the quality of students and researchers attracted to the School of Molecular and Cellular Biology.

The School, and particularly the departments and labs, are proud of the awardees' accomplishments and would like to encourage incoming students and postdoctoral scholars to apply for these opportunities.

Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA): Fellowships aim to enrich the research training of promising predoctoral students by providing individualized, mentored research experience. Applicants must propose an integrated research plan and a dissertation research project that meet the guidelines of the participating NIH Institutes and Centers. The NRSA award provides up to 6 years of support for research and clinical training including stipends, tuition and fees, and institutional allowance. The fellowship is designed to clearly enhance the individual’s potential to develop into a productive, independent research or physician-scientist.

A Round of Applause for the School’s Current and Recent NRSA Fellows!

Waqar Arif (Biochemistry, MD/PhD), Lily Mahapatra (Biochemistry), Shannon Walsh (Biochemistry), Matthew Biehl (MIP), Robin Holland (Micro), Itamar Livnat (MIP), Bernard Slater (MIP), Daniel Harris (Biochemistry), Paven Aujla (MIP), Sumanprava Giri (CDB)

American Heart Association (AHA) Fellowships are granted to help initiate careers in cardiovascular and stroke research by providing research assistance and training. Awardees devote their time to research or activities directly related to their development into independent researchers.

Congratulations to the School’s Current AHA Fellows!

Donghyun Kim (MIP), AHA Postdoctoral Fellowship
Dennis Piehl (Biochemistry), AHA Predoctoral Fellowship

The Midwest Regional Chapter of the Society of Toxicology (MRC-SOT) provides an annual Young Investigator Award to individual research trainees in the area of the toxicological sciences. The purpose of the award is to ensure that an adequate number of highly trained scientists will be available to meet the future toxicology research needs. Young Investigator awardees will present the research at the following Annual Meeting of MRC-SOT.

Kirsten Eckstrum, from the department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, received the 2015 Midwest RC Young Investigator Award at the 2015 Spring Meeting.

The Schlumberger Foundation Faculty for the Future Fellowship, which is awarded to women scientists and engineers from developing world to pursue postgraduate studies at leading universities worldwide. After completion of the study, individuals will return to their home countries where they will contribute to the development of science. In the 2015-2016 academic year, the Schlumberger Foundation awarded new fellowships to 155 women, and has also extended 135 existing grants.

Elizabeth Amosun, from Microbiology, received the Schlumberger Fellowship in 2015.

The Damon Runyon Research Foundation encourages all theoretical and experimental research relevant to the study of cancer including cancer causes, mechanisms, therapies and prevention. After successful completion of the fellowship, Damon Runyon Fellows are eligible to apply for the Dale F. Frey Award for Breakthrough Scientists, which provides additional support to exceptional Damon-Runyon Fellows.

Melanie Issigonis, a postdoctoral fellow in the Newmark Lab, received the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation award in September of 2012.

April 15, 2016.