MCB Awards and Honors

Jana Radin named LAS Honors Faculty Mentor of the Year

May 2021

Congratulations to Jana Radin on being chosen as the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Honors Faculty Mentor of the Year!

Jie Chen receives campus award for graduate student mentoring

May 2021

MCB students, faculty, and staff recognized for their extraordinary efforts during COVID-19

April 2021

Cari Vanderpool elected Fellow of American Academy of Microbiology

February 2021

Congratulations to Cari Vanderpool, professor of microbiology, who was recently elected a fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Microbiology professor Rachel Whitaker named a University Scholar

December 2020

Congratulations to Rachel Whitaker for being chosen as a University Scholar. Whitaker, a professor of microbiology, conducts groundbreaking research on the dynamics of microbes and their viruses and how they evolve in clinical and natural environments.

Erik Nelson receives $4.5M grant to study prevention and treatment of metastatic breast cancer

November 2020

Erik Nelson, professor of molecular and integrative physiology, has won a $4.5 million Era of Hope Scholar Award from the United States Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program.This prestigious award supports individuals early in their careers who have demonstrated significant potential to effect meaningful change in breast cancer research. Recipients of the Era of Hope Scholar Award are leaders and visionaries in their respective field who go beyond conventional thinking to change the current landscape of breast cancer research and therapy.

Brian Freeman named a fellow of Cell Stress Society International

October 2020

Congratulations to Brian Freeman, professor of cell and developmental biology at the University of Illinois who has been selected as a fellow of the Cell Stress Society International.

Christopher Brooke named Man of the Year by Central Illinois Business Magazine

October 2020

This announcement was made as part of The News-Gazetteā€™s 13th annual Forty Under 40 Awards. Professor Brooke is an assistant professor of microbiology and is an affiliate of the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology.

Asma Hatoum-Aslan, new microbiology professor, named Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigator

August 2020

Congratulations to University of Illinois professor Asma Hatoum-Aslan, who was recently named a 2020 Investigator in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

MIP Professor Benita Katzenellenbogen named Senior Advisor for the Cancer Center at Illinois

June 2020

Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has been appointed Senior Advisor to the Director of the Cancer Center at Illinois (CCIL), Rohit Bhargava.