Calendar Events

Monday, July 04, 2022

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 05, 2022

1:00 pm

FINAL DEFENSE: Chunyu Layla Wu (van der Donk lab) - "Investigations into the biosynthesis and mode of action of the antimicrobial peptides epilancin 15X and sublancin"

C605 CLSL

Thursday, August 18, 2022

through
8/20/2022

IGB Symposium - Rubisco Oxygenase: 50 Years of Progress and Looking into the Future

I Hotel and Conference Center, Chancellor Ballroom, 1900 S 1st St, Champaign, IL 61820

Monday, August 22, 2022

First Day of Instruction, Fall Semester

Thursday, August 25, 2022

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Seminar: Dr. Yang Yang, Purdue University, " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

Thursday, September 01, 2022

11:00 am

Shruti Bendre & Matt Lowerison (Grad Student & Postdoc) " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Esther Angert, Cornell University -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Monday, September 05, 2022

Labor Day

Thursday, September 08, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Martin Wagner, , Medical University of Graz, Austria " Title TBA" ZOOM

https://go.illinois.edu/mip-seminars

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Sean Crosson, Michigan State University -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

4:00 pm

Zac Dewald (Kalsotra)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Andrea Hernandez Garcia (Nair)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, September 15, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Rebeca San Martin, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, "Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

4:00 pm

Heather Liu (Stadtmueller)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, September 22, 2022

11:00 am

C. Ladd Prosser Endowed Lecture. Dr. Suraj Unniappan, University of Saskatchewan, "Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Peter Chien, University of Massachusetts -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

4:00 pm

Professor Hening Lin, Cornell University. "Protein acylation-deacylation cycles regulate signaling pathways in cancer and inflammation"

116 RAL

Wednesday, September 28, 2022

4:00 pm

Govindjee Fellow: Adrika Raybarman (Huang lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Recny Fellow: Santanu Ghosh (Shapiro lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, September 29, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Luke Remage-Healey, University of Massachusetts Amherst, " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Sophie Helaine, Harvard University

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Friday, September 30, 2022

12:00 pm

Professor Udayan Apte, The University of Kansas, "TBD"

B102 CLSL

Thursday, October 06, 2022

11:00 am

Amber Wang & Steven Hobbs (MIP Grad Students) " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Seema Lakdawala, University of Pittsburgh -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

12:00 pm

Cell and Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Jennifer Gerton, University of Kansas School of Medicine.

Charles G. Miller Auditorium B102 CLSL

4:00 pm

Issac Kim (Martinis lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, October 13, 2022

11:00 am

Quang Nguyen & Jacob Beal (MIP Grad Students) " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Ryland Young, Texas A & M University -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

4:00 pm

Kritika mehta (Zhang lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Lainie Liang (Stadtmueller lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, October 20, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Mustafa Sahin, Harvard Medical School" Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Muthiah Kumaraswami, Houston Methodist Hospital

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

4:00 pm

TJ OH (Zhang lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Stella Ekaputri (Burke lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, October 27, 2022

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Schuyler Van Engelenburg, University of Denver -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Friday, October 28, 2022

12:00 pm

Gottleib Lecture presented by the Biotechnology Center: Prof. David Craik

B102 CLSL - Chemical and Life Sciences Building, Charles G. Miller Auditorium

Wednesday, November 02, 2022

12:00 pm

Cell and Developmental Biology Seminar- Dr. Jayakrishnan Nandakumar, University of Michigan

Charles G. Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Huaxun Fan (Zhang lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Sonya Kumar Bharathkar (Stadtmueller lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, November 03, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Deniz Atasoy, University of Iowa " Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Marvin Whiteley, Georgia Institute of Technology -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Tuesday, November 08, 2022

Election Day

Wednesday, November 09, 2022

4:00 pm

Che yang (Zhao lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Xiaodan Lin (Martinis lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, November 10, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Hye Young Lee, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio" Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. David Baltrus, University of Arizona -- "TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, November 16, 2022

4:00 pm

Mashiat Chowdhury (Jin lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Shukun Yang (Silverman lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, November 17, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Kristy Brown, Weill Cornell Medical College" Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Rita Tamayo, University of North Carolina -- "Generating phenotypic heterogeneity through phase variation in Clostridioides difficile"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Saturday, November 19, 2022

1:00 pm

Thanksgiving Break Begins

Thursday, November 24, 2022

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 25, 2022

Day After Thanksgiving - Designated Holiday

Monday, November 28, 2022

Instruction resumes

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

4:00 pm

Yannan Tian (Huang lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Chris Hawk (Jin lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, December 01, 2022

11:00 am

Dr. Stelios Smirnakis, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard" Title TBA"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102, CLSL

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Hank Seifert, Northwestern University -- "Evolution of diversification in the face of function – "Lessons learned from the pilus antigenic variation system of Neisseria gonorrhoeae"

Charles Miller Auditorium, B102 Chemical & Life Sciences Laboratory Building, Urbana, IL

Wednesday, December 07, 2022

Last Day of Instruction, Fall Semester

Thursday, December 08, 2022

Reading Day - IT No Change Period in effect

Friday, December 09, 2022

8:30 am

Final Exams Begin

4:00 pm

18th Annual Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Symposium, Daniel Nomura, University of California, Berkeley, "TBD"

B102 CLSL

Monday, December 19, 2022

First Day of Instruction, Winter Session

Friday, December 23, 2022

Gift Day

Monday, December 26, 2022

Christmas Holiday (observed)

Tuesday, December 27, 2022

Day after Christmas - Designated Holiday

Wednesday, December 28, 2022

Designated Holiday

Thursday, December 29, 2022

through
12/30/2022

Gift day

Monday, January 02, 2023

New Year's Day (observed)

Thursday, January 12, 2023

Final Exams - Winter Session

Monday, January 16, 2023

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

First Day of Instruction, Spring Semester

Thursday, January 19, 2023

4:00 pm

Professor Peter Mahaffy, The King's University, "TBD"

116 RAL

Wednesday, February 01, 2023

4:00 pm

Yanheng Chen (Chen lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Krishna Narayanan (Procko lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

4:00 pm

Rayeed Ihsan (Cronan lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Iris Lyu (Stadtmueller lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, February 16, 2023

4:00 pm

Professor Adrian Keatinge-Clay, The University at Texas at Austin, "TBD"

B102 CLSL

Wednesday, February 22, 2023

4:00 pm

Graeme Lindsey (Procko lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Rebecca Schneider (Stadtmueller lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, March 01, 2023

4:00 pm

Mat sinclair (Tajkhorshid lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Hina Zhou (van der Donk lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, March 08, 2023

4:00 pm

JUnyao Zhu (Shapiro lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Arthur Zou (Leckband lab)

Room 116 RAL

Saturday, March 11, 2023

1:00 pm

Spring Vacation Begins

Monday, March 20, 2023

7:00 am

Instruction resumes

Wednesday, March 22, 2023

4:00 pm

Rachel Martini (van der Donk lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

4:00 pm

Nick Baker (Kalsotra lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Jorge Calderin (Fratti lab)

Room 116 RAL

Thursday, April 06, 2023

4:00 pm

Professor Sara Sawyer, University of Colorado, "TBD"

116 RAL

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

4:00 pm

Gilberto Padron (Sanfilippo lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Jackson Scholar Yuwei Pan (Zhao lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, April 19, 2023

4:00 pm

Jessica Palalay (Sanfilippo lab)

Room 116 RAL

4:00 pm

Yiquan Wang (Wu lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, April 26, 2023

4:00 pm

Chi Zhang (Fratti lab)

Room 116 RAL

Wednesday, May 03, 2023

Instruction Ends

Thursday, May 04, 2023

Reading Day/IT No Change Period in effect

Friday, May 05, 2023

Final Exams Begin

Saturday, May 13, 2023

8:30 am

Commencement