Calendar Events

Friday, September 22, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology and Georgia State University, title "Engineering Ancient Proteins for Biotherapeutic Development"

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology

Monday, September 25, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Qinyu Sun, "MicroRNA-independent role of miRNA-host gene in cell cycle progression"

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. John Lis, Dept. of Molecular Biology & Genetics, Cornell University, "How Specific Factors Collaborate to Regulate Distinct Steps in the Transcription Cycle"

Thursday, September 28, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Julia van Kessel, Indiana University -- "Quorum sensing regulation of bacterial development in vibrios"

Friday, September 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Thomas Wandless (Stanford University), "Methods to Enable Regulated Gene Therapy"

Monday, October 02, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Yuan Tian, "TBA"

Wednesday, October 04, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Lin He, Cell & Developmental Biology, University of California, Berkeley; HHMI; "miRNAs in development and disease"

4:00 pm

EZ Ellis (Fratti Lab):

4:00 pm

Surbhi Jain (Zhao Lab):

Thursday, October 05, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: Dan Llano, M.D., Ph.D. "Voices down below: cortical-subcortical interactions in the mouse auditory system"

2:00 pm

Prof. Alan Saghatelian, Salk Institute of Biological Studies, title "Discovery and Characterization of Lipids and Peptides"

4:00 pm

Gottlieb Lecture Series: Dr. Mervyn Bibb, John Innes Centre -- "TBA"

Monday, October 09, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Yuou Wang, "TBA"

Thursday, October 12, 2017

1:30 pm

FINAL DEFENSE: Ruchia Duggal (Sligar Lab) - "Mechanistic Investigation of Human Cytochromes P450 involved in Hormone Biosynthesis”

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Theodore Pierson, National Institutes of Health/NIAID

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Ada Doisy Lectures in BIOCHEMISTRY: Dr. Eric Gouaux, (Oregon Health & Science University), "The Molecular Principles Underpinning Signaling at Chemical Synapses"

Friday, October 13, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Ada Doisy Lectures in BIOCHEMISTRY: Dr. David Julius, (UCSF), "Natural Products as Probes of the Pain Pathway: From Physiology to Atomic Structure"

Monday, October 16, 2017

12:00 pm - 12:00 pm

CDB Student Final Thesis Seminar: Mahdieh Jadaliha, "TDA"

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. Kevan Shokat, University of California, San Francisco, title “Chemical Tricks for Drugging the Undruggable”

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Scott Michaels, Department of Biology, Indiana University, "TBA""

Thursday, October 19, 2017

11:00 am

Endowed C. Ladd Prosser Lecture, Steven McKnight, Ph.D. "A Solid State Conceptualization of Information Transfer from Gene to Message to Protein"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Michael Malamy, Tufts University -- "New Insights into Energy Metabolism in Bacteroides fragilis"

Friday, October 20, 2017

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Spiegelman Symposium

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Daniel Foltz, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; "TBA"

4:00 pm

Xingcheng Dong (Chen Lab):

4:00 pm

Waqar Arif (Kalsotra) Lab):

Thursday, October 26, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Lyle Simmons, University of Michigan -- "Mechanisms of genome stability and cell cycle control"

Friday, October 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Jeff Coller (Case Western Reserve University), "TBA"

Monday, October 30, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Christopher Seward, "TBA"

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

12:00 pm

CDB Career Development Seminar: Chad Stiening, PhD, CEO, Kypha, St. Louis

4:00 pm

William Arnold (Das Lab):

4:00 pm

Amy Carruthers (Huang Lab):

Thursday, November 02, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: Michael Halassa, M.D., Ph.D., NYU, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Alexander Horswill, University of Colorado -- "TBA"

Friday, November 03, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Christopher Brett (Concordia University), "TBA"

Monday, November 06, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Liguo Zhang "TBA"

Wednesday, November 08, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yamini Dalal, National Cancer Institute, NIH, "Twisting the Dragon's Tail: Dissecting Chromatin Fragility in Human Cancers"

4:00 pm

Yuanyuan Hu (Cronan Lab):

Thursday, November 09, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Andreas Baumler, University of California-Davis -- "The pyromaniac inside you: Salmonella metabolism in the host gut"

Friday, November 10, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Aditi Das (UIUC), "TBA"

Monday, November 13, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Soumya Negi, "TBA"; Qinyu Hao, "TBA"

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

8:30 am

Donald Sheppard (Chen) -

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yali Dou, Department of Pathology, University of Michigan, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Logan Hurst (Fratti Lab):

Thursday, November 16, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: David DeNardo, Ph.D., Washington University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Paul Fey, University of Nebraska Medical Center -- "Staphylococcal amino acid importance in an in vivo environment"

Friday, November 17, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Peter C. Dedon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, title TBA

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Peter Dedon (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Thanksgiving Break Begins

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 24, 2017

Day After Thanksgiving - Designated Holiday

Monday, November 27, 2017

Instruction resumes

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Rosaline Hsu, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Prof. Sarah E. Reisman, California Institute of Technology, title "Necessity is the Mother of Invention: Natural Products and the Chemistry They Inspire"

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Roger Greenberg, Department of Cancer Biology, Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, University of Pennsylvania, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Lu Chen (Gennis/Oldfield Lab):

4:00 pm

Westcott Bioscience Fellow: John Khamo (Zhang Lab):

Thursday, November 30, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: Jiandie Lin, Ph.D., University of Michigan, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Adam Lauring, University of Michigan: "Influenza virus evolution, getting personal"

Monday, December 04, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Kook Son, "TBA"

Wednesday, December 06, 2017

2:00 pm

Prof. Kenneth M. Merz, Michigan State University, title TBA

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Last Day of Instruction, Fall Semester

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Reading Day/IT No Change Period in effect

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. A. Murat Eren, University of Chicago -- "TBA"

Friday, December 15, 2017

Final Exams Begin

Friday, December 22, 2017

First Day of Instruction, Winter Session

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Day after Christmas - Designated Holiday

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Gift day

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Gift day

Friday, December 29, 2017

Gift day

Monday, January 01, 2018

New Year's Day Observed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Final Exam, Winter Session

Monday, January 15, 2018

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Designated Holiday

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

First Day of Instruction, Spring Semester

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Kris Demali, University of Iowa, Biochemistry and Dermatology, Carver College of Medicine, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Philip Olivares (Nair Lab):

Monday, January 29, 2018

12:00 pm - 12:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Ankita Saha, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Prof. Victoria D'Souza, Harvard University, title TBA

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Helen McNeil, Washington University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Vishnu Krishnamurthy (Zhang Lab):

4:00 pm

Xinyu Kong (Leckband Lab):

Monday, February 05, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: John Xiaohe Li, "TBA"

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Ashish Lal, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Anna SantaMaria (Burke Lab):

4:00 pm

Govindjee Fellow: Donald Sheppard (Das Lab):

Thursday, February 08, 2018

4:00 pm

Prof. Vern L. Schramm, Yeshiva University, title TBA

Monday, February 12, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:05 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Nilmani Singh, "TBA"

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Maria Barna, Departments of Developmental Biology and Genetics, Stanford University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Ipek Tasan (Zhao Lab):

4:00 pm

Kade Fellow: Liqun Yu (Shapiro Lab):

Friday, February 16, 2018

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Laura Lowe Furge (Kalamazoo College)

12:00 pm

Dr. Laura Lowe Furge, Kalamazoo College, title TBA

Monday, February 19, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Omid Gholamalamdari, "TBA"

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

4:00 pm

Carter Fellow: Paola Estrada (Nair Lab):

4:00 pm

Dayu Zhang (Martinis Lab):

Monday, February 26, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Alokanananda Ray, "TBA"; Monica Chinea Diliz, "TBA"