Calendar Events

Friday, August 25, 2017

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

13th Annual Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Symposium

1:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of 13th Annual Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Symposium. Keynote address by Professor Jon Clardy, Harvard University

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

4:00 pm

Dr. Heidi Imker, Director, Research Data Service, Associate Professor, University Library

Monday, September 04, 2017

Labor Day

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. David Kokel, University of California San Francisco, title "High-throughput behavior based neuroactive drug discovery in the zebrafish"

Wednesday, September 06, 2017

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Dillon Cogan (Nair Lab) -

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Mara Livezey (Shapiro Lab):

Thursday, September 07, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: David A. Bennett, M.D., Rush University, "Deconstructing the biologic complexity of neurodegenerative diseases"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Min Dong, Harvard Medical School -- "Receptors for Botulinum Neurotoxins and C. difficile toxins""

Monday, September 11, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Nayab Abidi, "TBA"

2:00 pm

FINAL DEFENSE: Julian Reed (Lu Lab) - “CHARACTERIZING A STRUCTURAL AND FUNCTIONAL MODEL OF NITRIC OXIDE REDUCTASE PERFORMING NO AND O2 REDUCTION IN ENGINEERED MYOGLOBIN”

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Mikhail Nikiforov (Roswell Park Cancer Institute), "Novel Metabolic Targets in Melanoma"

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Rachel Smith-Bolton, UIUC, "TBA"

Thursday, September 14, 2017

11:00 am

Molecular & Integrative Physiology Seminar: Larry Chamley, Ph.D., University of Auckland, "Mom, the fetus IS in control: Extracellular vesicles, things that come off the placenta"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. William Petri, University of Virginia School of Medicine: "Innate Immune Protection from Clostridium difficile colitis"

Friday, September 15, 2017

12:00 pm

Herbert E. Carter Lecture in Nutritional Biochemistry and Preventive Medicine: Dr. Jared Rutter (University of Utah), "Mitochondria, Metabolism and Cellular Decisions: Entwined in Health and Disease"

4:00 pm

Herbert E. Carter Lecture in Nutritional Biochemistry and Preventive Medicine: Dr. Paul Schimmel (The Scripps Institute), "Nature’s Repurposing of Human tRNA Synthetases for Cell Signaling"

Monday, September 18, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Phillip Kenny, "TBA"

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

12:00 pm

CDB Career Development Seminar: Dr. Marshall Brennan, Associate Editor, Nature Chemistry

Thursday, September 21, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Andrew Schwaderer, Nationwide Childen's Hospital -- "Urinary Stones and Bacteria"

Friday, September 22, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology and Georgia State University, title "Engineering Ancient Proteins for Biotherapeutic Development"

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology

Monday, September 25, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Qinyu Sun, "TBA"

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. John Lis, Dept. of Molecular Biology & Genetics, Cornell University, "How Specific Factors Collaborate to Regulate Distinct Steps in the Transcription Cycle"

Thursday, September 28, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Julia van Kessel, Indiana University -- "Quorum sensing regulation of bacterial development in vibrios"

Friday, September 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Thomas Wandless (Stanford University), "Methods to Enable Regulated Gene Therapy"

Monday, October 02, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Yuan Tian, "TBA"

Wednesday, October 04, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Lin He, Cell & Developmental Biology, University of California, Berkeley; HHMI; "microRNAs, small yet mighty gene regulators in development and disease"

4:00 pm

EZ Ellis (Fratti Lab):

4:00 pm

Surbhi Jain (Zhao Lab):

Thursday, October 05, 2017

2:00 pm

Prof. Alan Saghatelian, Salk Institute of Biological Studies, title "Discovery and Characterization of Lipids and Peptides"

4:00 pm

Gottlieb Lecture Series: Dr. Mervyn Bibb, John Innes Centre -- "TBA"

Monday, October 09, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Yuou Wang, "TBA"

Thursday, October 12, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Theodore Pierson, National Institutes of Health/NIAID

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Ada Doisy Lectures in BIOCHEMISTRY: Dr. Eric Gouaux, (Oregon Health & Science University), "TBA"

Friday, October 13, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Ada Doisy Lectures in BIOCHEMISTRY: Dr. David Julius, (UCSF), "TBA"

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. Kevan Shokat, University of California, San Francisco, title TBA

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Scott Michaels, Department of Biology, Indiana University, "TBA""

Thursday, October 19, 2017

11:00 am

Endowed C. Ladd Prosser Lecture, Steven McKnight, Ph.D. "A Solid State Conceptualization of Information Transfer from Gene to Message to Protein"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Michael Malamy, Tufts University -- "TBA"

Friday, October 20, 2017

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Spiegelman Symposium

Monday, October 23, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Binhui Zhao, "TBA"

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Daniel Foltz, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; "TBA"

4:00 pm

Xingcheng Dong (Chen Lab):

4:00 pm

Waqar Arif (Kalsotra) Lab):

Thursday, October 26, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Lyle Simmons, University of Michigan -- "Mechanisms of genome stability and cell cycle control"

Friday, October 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Jeff Coller (Case Western Reserve University), "TBA"

Monday, October 30, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Christopher Seward, "TBA"

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

4:00 pm

William Arnold (Das Lab):

4:00 pm

Amy Carruthers (Huang Lab):

Thursday, November 02, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Alexander Horswill, University of Colorado -- "TBA"

Friday, November 03, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Christopher Brett (Concordia University), "TBA"

Monday, November 06, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Liguo Zhang "TBA"

Wednesday, November 08, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yamini Dalal, National Cancer Institute, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Yuanyuan Hu (Cronan Lab):

Thursday, November 09, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Andreas Baumler, University of California-Davis -- "The pyromaniac inside you: Salmonella metabolism in the host gut"

Friday, November 10, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Aditi Das (UIUC), "TBA"

Monday, November 13, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Qinyu Hao, "TBA"; Soumya Negi, "TBA"

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

8:30 am

Donald Sheppard (Chen) -

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yali Dou, Department of Pathology, University of Michigan, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Logan Hurst (Fratti Lab):

Thursday, November 16, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Paul Fey, University of Nebraska Medical Center -- "Staphylococcal amino acid importance in an in vivo environment"

Friday, November 17, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Peter C. Dedon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, title TBA

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Peter Dedon (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 24, 2017

Day After Thanksgiving - Designated Holiday

Monday, November 27, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Rosaline Hsu, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Prof. Sarah E. Reisman, California Institute of Technology, title TBA

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Roger Greenberg, Department of Cancer Biology, Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, University of Pennsylvania, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Lu Chen (Gennis/Oldfield Lab):

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: John Khamo (Zhang Lab):

Thursday, November 30, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Adam Lauring, University of Michigan: "Influenza virus evolution, getting personal"

Monday, December 04, 2017

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Kook Son, "TBA"

Wednesday, December 06, 2017

2:00 pm

Prof. Kenneth M. Merz, Michigan State University, title TBA

Thursday, December 14, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. A. Murat Eren, University of Chicago -- "TBA"

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Day after Christmas - Designated Holiday

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Gift day

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Gift day

Friday, December 29, 2017

Gift day

Monday, January 01, 2018

New Year's Day Observed

Monday, January 15, 2018

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Designated Holiday

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Kris Demali, University of Iowa, Biochemistry and Dermatology, Carver College of Medicine, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Philip Olivares (Nair Lab):

4:00 pm

Dennis Piehl (Rienstra Lab):

Monday, January 29, 2018

12:00 pm - 12:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Ankita Saha, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Prof. Victoria D'Souza, Harvard University, title TBA

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Helen McNeil, Washington University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Vishnu Krishnamurthy (Zhang Lab):

4:00 pm

Xinyu Kong (Leckband Lab):

Monday, February 05, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: John Xiaohe Li, "TBA"

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Ashish Lal, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Anna SantaMaria (Burke Lab):

4:00 pm

Govindjee Fellow: Donald Sheppard (Das Lab):

Thursday, February 08, 2018

4:00 pm

Prof. Vern L. Schramm, Yeshiva University, title TBA

Monday, February 12, 2018

12:00 pm - 1:05 pm

CDB Student & Postdoc Seminar: Omid Gholamalamdari, "TBA"; Nilmani Singh, "TBA"

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Maria Barna, Departments of Developmental Biology and Genetics, Stanford University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Ipek Tasan (Zhao Lab):

4:00 pm

Kade Fellow: Liqun Yu (Shapiro Lab):

Friday, February 16, 2018

12:00 pm

Dr. Laura Lowe Furge, Kalamazoo College, title TBA