Calendar Events

Tuesday, July 04, 2017

Independence Day

Thursday, August 03, 2017

12:00 pm

Instruction Ends, Summer Session

Friday, August 04, 2017

8:30 am

Final Exams, Summer Session

Friday, August 25, 2017

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

13th Annual Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Symposium

1:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of 13th Annual Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Symposium. Keynote address by Professor Jon Clardy, Harvard University

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

4:00 pm

Dr. Heidi Imker, Director, Research Data Service, Associate Professor, University Library

Monday, September 04, 2017

Labor Day

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. David Kokel, University of California, San Diego, title TBA

Wednesday, September 06, 2017

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Dillon Cogan (Nair Lab) -

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Matthew Starr (Fratti Lab)

Thursday, September 07, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Min Dong, Harvard Medical School -- "TBA"

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Rachel Smith-Bolton, UIUC, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Gregory Miner (Fratti Lab):

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Mara Livezey (Shapiro Lab):

Friday, September 15, 2017

12:00 pm

Herbert E. Carter Lecture in Nutritional Biochemistry and Preventive Medicine: Dr. Jared Rutter (University of Utah), TBA

4:00 pm

Herbert E. Carter Lecture in Nutritional Biochemistry and Preventive Medicine: Dr. Paul Schimmel (The Scripps Institute), TBA

Thursday, September 21, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Andrew Schwaderer, Nationwide Childen's Hospital -- "Urinary Stones and Bacteria"

Friday, September 22, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology, title TBA

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Eric Gaucher, Georgia Institute of Technology

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. John Lis, Dept. of Molecular Biology & Genetics, Cornell University, "TBA"

Thursday, September 28, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Julia van Kessel, Indiana University -- "Quorum sensing regulation of bacterial development in vibrios"

Friday, September 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Thomas Wandless (Stanford University), "TBA"

Wednesday, October 04, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Lin He, Cell & Developmental Biology, University of California, Berkeley; HHMI; "microRNAs, small yet mighty gene regulators in development and disease"

4:00 pm

Swaminath Srinivas (Cronan Lab):

4:00 pm

EZ Ellis (Fratti Lab):

Thursday, October 05, 2017

2:00 pm

Prof. Alan Saghatelian, Salk Institute of Biological Studies, title TBA

4:00 pm

Gottlieb Lecture Series: Dr. Mervyn Bibb, John Innes Centre -- "TBA"

Thursday, October 12, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Theodore Pierson, National Institutes of Health/NIAID

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. Kevan Shokat, University of California, San Francisco, title TBA

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

4:00 pm

Surbhi Jain (Zhao Lab):

4:00 pm

Nektaria Petronilokou (NairLab):

Thursday, October 19, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Michael Malamy, Tufts University -- "TBA"

Friday, October 20, 2017

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Spiegelman Symposium

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Daniel Foltz, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; "TBA"

4:00 pm

Xingcheng Dong (Chen Lab):

4:00 pm

Waqar Arif (Kalsotra) Lab):

Thursday, October 26, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Lyle Simmons, University of Michigan -- "TBA"

Friday, October 27, 2017

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Seminar: Dr. Jeff Coller (Case Western Reserve University), "TBA"

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

4:00 pm

William Arnold (Das Lab):

4:00 pm

Amy Carruthers (Huang Lab):

Thursday, November 02, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Alex Horswill, University of Iowa -- "TBA"

Wednesday, November 08, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yamini Dalal, National Cancer Institute, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Lu Chen (Gennis/Oldfield Lab):

4:00 pm

Yuanyuan Hu (Cronan Lab):

Thursday, November 09, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Andreas Baumler, University of California-Davis -- "The pyromaniac inside you: Salmonella metabolism in the host gut"

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Yali Dou, Department of Pathology, University of Michigan, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Logan Hurst (Fratti Lab):

4:00 pm

Mariana Lencina (Gennis Lab):

Thursday, November 16, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Paul Fey, University of Nebraska Medical Center -- "Staphylococcal amino acid importance in an in vivo environment"

Friday, November 17, 2017

12:00 pm

Prof. Peter C. Dedon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, title TBA

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Prof. Peter Dedon (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 24, 2017

Day After Thanksgiving - Designated Holiday

Monday, November 27, 2017

4:00 pm

Prof. Sarah E. Reisman, California Institute of Technology, title TBA

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Roger Greenberg, Department of Cancer Biology, Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, University of Pennsylvania, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: John Khamo (Zhang Lab):

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Robert Sparks (Fratti Lab):

Wednesday, December 06, 2017

2:00 pm

Prof. Kenneth M. Merz, Michigan State University, title TBA

Thursday, December 14, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. A. Murat Eren, University of Chicago -- "TBA"

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Day after Christmas - Designated Holiday

Monday, January 01, 2018

New Year's Day Observed

Monday, January 15, 2018

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Designated Holiday

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

4:00 pm

Philip Olivares (Nair Lab):

4:00 pm

Dennis Piehl (Rienstra Lab):

Monday, January 29, 2018

4:00 pm

Prof. Victoria D'Souza, Harvard University, title TBA

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

4:00 pm

Vishnu Krishnamurthy (Zhang Lab):

4:00 pm

Xinyu Kong (Leckband Lab):

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

4:00 pm

Anna SantaMaria (Burke Lab):

4:00 pm

Govindjee Fellow: Donald Sheppard (Das Lab):

Thursday, February 08, 2018

4:00 pm

Prof. Vern L. Schramm, Yeshiva University, title TBA

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Maria Barna, Departments of Developmental Biology and Genetics, Stanford University, "TBA"

4:00 pm

Ipek Tasan (Zhao Lab):

4:00 pm

Kade Fellow: Liqun Yu (Shapiro Lab):

Friday, February 16, 2018

12:00 pm

No Biochemistry Seminar today in lieu of Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program and the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Laura Lowe Furge (Kalamazoo College)

12:00 pm

Dr. Laura Lowe Furge, Kalamazoo College, title TBA

Wednesday, March 07, 2018

12:00 pm

Cell & Developmental Biology Seminar: Dr. Alexandra Joyner, Developmental Biology Program, Sloan Kettering Institute, "TBA"

Monday, March 26, 2018

4:00 pm

Prof. Baldomero M. Olivera, University of Utah, title TBA

Wednesday, April 04, 2018

4:00 pm

Graduate Student Appreciation Week: Special

Friday, April 06, 2018

12:00 pm

Biochemistry Graduate Student Award Seminar

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

4:00 pm

Westcott Biosciences Fellow: Heather Young (Procko Lab)

4:00 pm

Vinh Vu (Leckband Lab)

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

4:00 pm

Josephine Watson (Das Lab)

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Commencement

Monday, May 28, 2018

Memorial Day