Our mission

Our mission is to ensure that the diversity of our community within the School of MCB reflects the diversity of our global community, and that the school fosters respect, inclusion, and support for all members of the MCB community so that each may achieve educational and career success. The committee is tasked to create an environment where all MCB members feel that they are valued, that they are respected, and that they belong.

To this end, the committee seeks to gauge the MCB climate and develop policy and actions to address identified shortcomings and areas of priority. The committee will provide leadership in introducing evidence-based methods and trainings that promote diversity, equity and inclusion for MCB members at all career stages. Furthermore, the committee will keep the school informed on best practices and resources regarding admissions, pedagogy, mentoring, hiring, and promotion.

Contact committee  Campus DEI and well-being resources  MCB initiatives

Para obtener información en español, comuníquese con Alejandra Stenger, astenger@illinois.edu, 217-244-7241


Summer 2023



Committee members

  • Rachel Smith-Bolton, Associate Professor and Associate Head, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Assistant Director of MCB for DEI and Committee Chair
  • Bill Brieher, Associate Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Hee Jung Chung, Associate Professor, Department of Molecular & Integrative Physiology
  • Auinash Kalsotra, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry
  • Paola Mera, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
  • Joe Sanfilippo, Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry
  • Shawna Smith, Program Coordinator, MCB Graduate Program
  • Anna Sokac, Associate Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Alejandra Stenger, Assistant Director for Curriculum and Instruction + DEI
  • Cari Vanderpool, Professor and Associate Head, Department of Microbiology
  • Rachel Whitaker, Professor, Department of Microbiology